Spanakopita

November 3, 2009

DSC_0026

To say I love Spanakopita would be a severe understatement.
Αγαπλώ η σπανακόπιτα
(yes I have greek on my computer and yes I know how to use it!)

My family goes crazy when I make it, I’m lucky to even get a piece most of the time.

Last night I was home all night for the first time in a while so I decided to make dinner. I just made grilled chicken with some whole wheat pasta, speghetti sauce and a salad. and as an appetizer (or “meze”) I made the spanakopita.
I always use frozen spinach, its easy and I really don’t taste a difference. Not realizing though, I made broccoli and threw half of my feta in the bowl with it before I noticed it was not spinach. SO! when life gives you broccoli and feta…make broccoli and feta triangles?
I made traditional triangles (which I was not able to get a photo of because they disappeared so quickly) with my broccoli version of spanakopita and made pie-spanakopita with the regular spinach and feta.

As far as a “recipe” goes, I really don’t have one. I’m very “old school” when it comes to cooking, I throw stuff in until it taste good basically. My spanakopita is very very basic, I got it from my great aunt and uncle who used to own a restaurant (of course they did – they’re greek aren’t they?).

DSC_0029

My kinda-sorta recipe for Spanakopita

1 packages of frozen spinach
8oz of feta
garlic powder
sea salt
pepper
melted butter
Phyllo

Preheat oven to 350F. Follow microwave directions for spinach. Add feta and chop at the feta until its a broken up and evenly mixed throughout. Add garlic, salt and pepper to taste (I used TONS of garlic always).
If making triangles, simply fold into triangles (good folding instructions are at Judicial Peach) lay on parchment lined cookie sheet and brush each with melted butter. If making pie, lay 4-5 layers of phyllo on bottom of large casserole dish, brush with butter, top with even coating of spinach mixture and more phyllo. repeat until all mixture is gone and end with phyllo and brush with butter.
Bake triangles 7-10 minutes, bake pie for around 15 minutes.

IMG_1370

I don’t want to hear any excuses about not trying spanakopita.
hate cooked spinach? guess what! I DESPISE cooked spinach with a passion
afraid phyllo is hard to deal with? don’t be, just take your time and you’ll be fine

I have yet to meet anyone who doesn’t like this stuff, and I’ve made spanakopita for my entire family as well as all of the staff at the restaurant I used to work at and my bible study group – you have to be crazy to not like this stuff.

4 Responses to “Spanakopita”

  1. Mari Says:

    TIEGINE!(did I spell that right lol)

    dude I love Spanakopita!

    My dad’s bff was Greek and his mom would always make us yummy food…god bless that women and her kitchen lol

    Damn that with some chocolate chip cookies would make a great din din


  2. Nice spanakopita! I love spanakopita, it’s the best!
    To say “I love spanakopita” in Greek it should be like this: Αγαπώ τη σπανακόπιτα but a Greek person would probably say : Τρελαίνομαι για σπανακόπιτα which means I go crazy for spanakopita!!
    Haha :)


  3. Mmmm…that looks so good,I love your photos!I came across your blog from the foodieblogroll and I’d love to guide our readers to your site if you won’t mind.Just add your choice of foodista widget to this post and it’s all set, Thanks!


Leave a comment