Chocolate Chip Cookies

November 3, 2009

DSC_0024
Frank travels a lot for his job. At least every other week I’m taking him to the airport and occasionally he’ll be gone for weeks at a time. I always mean t o make him snacks to take for when he gets stuck waiting for the plane or working all day without taking a break but the last few times I forgot (I’m a such a bad girlfriend!) but I finally remembered last night and decided just to make some just plain ol’ basic chocolate chip cookies (good thing theres a tv right next to our kitchen so I could bake/listen to the world series at the same time or else I don’t know if he would have gotten any cookies.

So I just use a little variation of the recipe my mom has always used and it goes a little something like this:
My Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies
1 stick of butter, softened
3/4 cp of Brown Sugar
1 egg
1 cp of whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp of baking soda
1/2 tsp of cinnamon
1/8 tsp salt
1/2 tsp of vanilla
however many chocolate chips make you happy (about 2 small hand fulls for us)

Cream together butter & sugar.
Beat in egg.
add 1/2 cp of the flour and mix until just combined.
add baking soda, cinnamon and salt and mix in.
add rest of flour and vanilla and mix until just combined.
use spatula to mix in chocolate chips.
Chill in fridge at least 10-15 minutes.
bake at 350F until done (I have no idea how long this is…10 minutes maybe?)

The first batch came out how I love – flat and crispy but not over-baked.
I quickly realized that with a full house of people I would need a second batch so I threw together some more batter.

The second batch came out nothing like the first. They were still very good but they held their shape and didn’t flatten out like the other ones. They still had a bit of a crisp to them and tasted good but you would never guess they were made with the same recipe.

IMG_1373The second batch cookies

I was trying to think of why this might be.

I had decided to skip the chilling in the fridge and just bake them right away, could that have been it?
or do you think maybe I might not have measured correctly and there was too much flour in the batter?

anyone know?

4 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Mari Says:

    yums those look so good! I can smell them from here lol

  2. DiningAndDishing Says:

    your photos are gorgeous :O). thanks for stopping by my blog – certainly looking forward to reading more of this one.

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  3. Steph Says:

    I love my CCCs flat and crispy too. It drives me crazy when my cookies don’t spread. Did you bake the cookies straight from the fridge? The cookies spread out less when they’re cold. Or maybe the dough dried out a little sitting in the fridge. That happens to me when I don’t wrap it tightly enough. Or maybe since you used whole wheat flour, which has the germ or bran? (not sure which or if both) and that might absorb some of the moisture from the dough kinda like oatmeal does. These are just some guesses though!

  4. megan Says:

    My guess is too much flour.

    Steph – if you want cookies that spread, try the ones on my site – they definitely spread…the opposite of what I wanted though!

    these look great though!


Leave a Reply

