Galette: My new favorite everything

July 15, 2010

I had to share this with you.

You may remember my Strawberry Rhubarb Galette, which is one of my favorite desserts I’ve made (at least, this summer). Well, I knew you could make a savory dinner type Galette and couldn’t wait to give it a try.

Let me tell you – probably my favorite savory food I’ve ever made.
I give props to the delicious and fresh local veggies of course too of course.

It was completely worth the time it took. The crust (which is the same that I always make) was, as always, perfectly flakey and delicious on its own, and the filling was favorful and just way too darn tasty.

I really didn’t have a recipe I followed, I mostly looked at other galette recipes and kind of emprovised from there so I’m happy to share it with you… go forth and have a delicious dinner!

The Crust
Partial whole wheat version
(adapted from Bread Baby)

1 tsp salt
2/3 cup very cold water
300 g of white flour
170 g of Whole Wheat flour
1 cup plus 5 tablespoons chilled butter, cut into 1 inch cubes (300 g)

I find using weights for measuring flour works MUCH better here, so weigh it if you have a scale.
In a small bowl, dissolve salt in very cold water and keep cold by sticking it in the freezer while you do the next steps.
To make dough with a mixer put flour in the work bowl, scatter butter over flour, and mix slowly until the mixture forms pea-sized crumbs. Add salted water and mix from low to very high for several seconds, until the dough comes together as a ball, but is not completely smooth (you should see some butter chunks).
At this point be careful not to handle the dough to much to keep it as tender as possible. On a floured surface, divide dough into two balls, shape into 2 thick disks, wrap in plastic, and chill for at least 2 hours or up to overnight.
(I freeze my second disk of dough to use for later)
30 minutes or so before baking, roll out the dough, place on parchment lined sheet and stick in the fridge until rest of ingredients are prepared.

The Filling

2 1/2 Tbsp butter
olive oil
1/3 onion (chopped)
Spices: Salt, Pepper, Oregano, Parsley
2 cloves (or 2 tsp) of minced Garlic
1/2 Bunch of Asparagus
Parmesan Cheese (goat cheese would work well too)
1 1/2 cups of Zucchini (thinly sliced)
4 Thick slices of Tomato

Preheat oven to 400 Degrees
Sauté onion in butter with a splash of Olive Oil until tender and slightly browned. Chop 1/2 of your asparagus into inch or so sized pieces and add to sauté-ing onions. Add garlic and spices to your liking – do not be shy with the spices! once asparagus has gotten tender remove from stove and alow to cool.
Once the mixture has cooled, pull rolled out dough from fridge. Scoop mixture on the center of the dough, sprinkle with desired amount of cheese (I went fairly light with mine), layer with zucchini, then layer with the remaining asparagus, and finally layer with tomatoes. top with more cheese and plenty of spices. Fold up edges and assure they’re well “glued” to one another. Coat crust with olive oil and drizzle a little bit into the galette.
Bake for 30-45 minutes until crust is slightly browned. Allow to cool slightly before digging in, and then enjoy :)

6 Responses to “Galette: My new favorite everything”

  1. Megan Says:

    I love galettes too! This one looks so tasty, and pretty too. Your photos are dreamy. :)

  2. Brandi Says:

    This looks absolutely delicious! I’ve never made a galette before, but that is going to change. And I really like your take on a dinner galette — it’s a brilliant idea.

  3. cindy Says:

    looks delicious!


  4. Looks yummy!! :)

    xx
    dagny

  5. smoochkins Says:

    Thanks for sharing, looks really good :D I wanan share this to my friends in Foodista if you don’t mind. Just add the foodista widget for asparagus at the end of this post, and that should do it! The widget will direct readers to your post when they go looking for asparagus recipes. Keep em coming! ;-)

    cheers, Amy from Australia

  6. AlyssaG Says:

    wow this looks amazing!


Leave a Reply

