A letter to Cupid

February 8, 2010

Dear Valentines Day,

I realize you have become little more than commercialized holiday targeted at selling cheap diamonds and poorly made chocolates that taste like toothpaste to men who almost forgot your existence. And yes, you cause restaurants to be overcrowded and not nearly as enjoyable as they really are. But I can forgive you for all of that and I will tell you why.

You see, it’s been snowing.
I hate snow, and cold, and ice and every bit of winter in the northeast.
February is a horrid month, filled with shoveling snow and running as quickly as possible from house to car and praying not to slip and die on the ice.
I shiver and sniffle and curse the season at least once an hour, trying to remember the beautiful days of summer when I would lay on a beach or have dinner outside talking with friends and munching on burgers. But those days seem so far away and there never feels to be an end to the winter madness mid-february.

Then, out of nowhere – the stores are covered in pink and red and pictures of flowers appear all over. Spring, maybe?! no…but at least those horrid christmas colors which signify the season is only beginning have been replaced by something cheerier.

My first job was at a cafe in a little village surrounded by orchards.
It seemed like overnight the apple trees would go from being naked arms stretching towards the sky to being bright, beautiful, pink goddesses. Raining little pink petals all over the ground and floating through the air – and you knew it was officially spring and summer would be here soon.

Oh pink – how I love you. oh and red, you’re not shabby either (that is, as long as you aren’t being displayed on a large man
with a white beard and a herd of pointy eared helpers).

So, Valentines Day – for brightening up this horrific time of you I bring you these –

Red Velvet Cupcakes with Fluffy Vanilla Buttercream

I hope you enjoy them as much as I did.

XOXOJosie

7 Responses to “A letter to Cupid”


  1. These look incredible – may have to make a stop at the bakery on the way to work…

  2. Mari Says:

    Those look amazing!

  3. Lisa Says:

    Wow they look so yummie! I like the story as well, very nicely written!
    Love your blog, have added it on to my blogroll on mine:)

  4. Heidi Says:

    I hate winter toooo!!! Cold and ice and snow are not my friends! These cupcakes however, look delicious :)

  5. Louise Says:

    I love this post! You’ve completely hit the nail on the head :) Those cupcakes look sooo good x


Leave a Reply

