Pumpkin Pie Waffles

October 21, 2009

IMG_1340

Ever since I can remember my two favorite ingredients have been cinnamon and pumpkin, so naturally pumpkin pie has always been a favorite (I have even been known to only scrape the pumpkin innards right off the crust, leaving a nice little empty pie crust). I also love love love waffles. I have them several times a week for breakfast and typically try to make them with my own whole wheat batter (sorry bisquick!) unless it’s a busy morning, in which case I’ll grab an ego (so blah).

SO you can bet that I was beyond excited to find the Pumpkin Pancake Recipe on Frugal Foodie’s blog (did I mention I’m IN LOVE with this blog?! I’m sure you can’t tell being that this is only the second day/blog in a row that I’ve made something using one of her recipes). For some reason my waffle-love does not carry over to pancakes so well…I mean, they’re okay, but I’ll always pick waffles in the end. So I decided to make them into Pumpkin Waffles!

IMG_1333

They were super fluffy and sooo much more delicious then my plain ol’ whole wheat waffles. I had plenty of left over batter so I decided to make the whole batch and freeze ’em for the week to come – YAY FOR DELICIOUS BREAKFASTS! It’ll be great for thursdays when I have to be out the door by 7:30 am to make it to class on time.

My only change to her great recipe in the future? maybe a little more pumpkin and cinnamon (I have an addition, and will soon need to go to therapy for it – I swear!)

IMG_1336

15 Responses to “Pumpkin Pie Waffles”

  1. Michael Says:

    they look gorgeous!
    check out my food blog and tell me what you think:
    http://thegodscake.wordpress.com

    Michael


  2. I love fluffy waffles too. This looks like quite a successful recipe!

  3. Pam Says:

    You have a very nice yummy blog and Congrats on the foodie blogroll!

  4. Luigi Says:

    Fantastic looking blog, love the excellent photography! An of course the recipes.

  5. Mari Says:

    Wow those waffles sound A-Mazing!

    I love your blog!!!!!! Thanks for stopping by mine. I must admit it, it scared me because “avien” is my ex’s son’s name and when I saw it on your blog; I thought it was the ex! Phew thank god it was you =)

  6. Simply Life Says:

    Oh my, those look AMAZING!!!

  7. Trish Says:

    Welcome…. Lovely blog and simplicity…yep….your photography is in love with the food….in its most simple form you show the food as it is….I am impressed.

  8. Amy Ruth Says:

    Wow Josie, those are some tasty looking waffles. Don’t you just love close shots? I do. You can really taste the food with your eyes. Okay, back to the waffles. Pumpkin and cinnamon are definitely in the top fall flavors. great job!
    Thanks for stopping by
    AmyRuth

  9. Joanne Says:

    Out of all the gadgets I have, there doesn’t exist a waffle iron/maker. Where have I gone wrong! Your pumpkin waffles look so good and you make them sound delicious.
    For now, I have to settle for pumpkin pancakes.

  10. Jayne Says:

    Looks so delicious I love it!

  11. Jen Says:

    I had pumpkin pancakes this weekend! yum@


Leave a Reply

