No cheese, please.

October 19, 2009

DSC_0076

When I was really little I was completely lactose intolerant. I’m not sure what happened, but at some point I kind of “grew out of it” leaving only a distaste for milk and a slight stomach pain after having dairy-rich foods. While all the other little kids would have milk and cookies, I would have my cookies with…water. Not incredibly appetizing. Oh how I wish alternative milk’s were as popular when I was little as they’ve slowly become over the last five years.

Anyway, at one point I got really quite good at staying away from dairy in its various forms, but especially lately I’ve been slipping. I would have the occasional bowl of ice cream or a piece of pizza or other dairy-heavy indulgences. Last night was the wake up call I needed. We had that ultra-lovely meal at Union Trust Steakhous and I eyed that cheesecake on the dessert menu when Frank reminded me of all the milk it’s packed with, but I threw caution to the wind and ordered it anyway. By the time he dropped me at my doorstep I thought I was going to be sick, and I know it had nothing to do with the culinary talents of the pastry chef, but rather my own digestive tract screaming at me once again.

So I was poking around online today to find a few others with very similar stories to mine. HeatherEatsAlmondButter talks about all the health problems she had growing up and how with each subtraction of dairy from her diet these things seemed to magically disapear. After I read that I thought back to when I finally switched over to soymilk about 2 years ago and how I have gotten sick a lot less. So I’ve come to the realization that it’s time to get a little more serious. I know there will still be small traces of dairy here and there but no more cream-based soups, no more dairy ice cream (DANG I wish soy ice cream was cheaper!) and no more cheesecake (unless I happen upon dairy-free versions of these guys).

Frank jokes he gets enough dairy and cheese for the both of us anyway. I suppose opposites really do attract :-)

My body does not handle dairy well, and if there’s one thing I believe it’s that every body knows what’s good and bad for it.

You just have to listen to what it’s trying to tell you.

One Response to “No cheese, please.”

  1. Hungry Huy Says:

    Forget cow’s milk. Soy milk is just so good!
    I would die if I couldn’t eat cheese anymore.

    Nice site, it looks like you enjoy taking photographs!


Leave a Reply

