Parc Restaurant

July 18, 2009

122148898815255795(Photo from Parc’s Website)

So FINALLY me and frank got to parc. He had to have been tired of hearing me talk about how much I couldn’t wait until summer to try parc and sit right next to the sidewalk and gawk at people walking by and enjoy a beautiful view of the park. I know a lot of people in philly don’t like Stephen Starr, and to be fair, not all of his restaurants live up to their expectations. But you have to hand it to him, the man knows how to create an ambiance and goes all out with it.

We waited until the last minute to make a reservation, so we ended up not getting in until 8 o’clock, but then again, it kind of keeps with the parisian attitude to not eat until late. The first thing, unfortunately, that we noticed as soon as we walked in, was the noise. I’m not sure if it’s because everything is wood or something, but the sound is almost deafening. Second, though, would be the fantastic decor. It really feels like you’re stepping into a cafe or bistro right in the heart of Paris. You half expect to see the eiffel tower across the street, not Rittenhouse park (but thats a great view too!). Luckily I requested in our reservation to be sat right off the sidewalk next to the floor to ceiling windows that, during the summer, all open and let the summer air and the sounds of the city drift in.

IMG_0912

I wish I had some better photos, but all I had was my little canon Powershot. Ain’t Frank a cutie though with his Red Sox hat?

Anyway! Our waitress (crystal davis!) was a sweetheart with a lot of energy (which I’m sure is a requirement to have when you work in such a hectic restaurant!). We, of course, knew what we wanted almost instantly and waisted no time ordering since we were already pretty hungry.

IMG_0916

ahhh french bread (well, faux french bread really- since we are in philly) it was pretty good. The whole wheat bread had such a great nutty flavor to it, it was delicious.

IMG_0917

Steak for Frank! No surprise there! Unfortunately though, he really didn’t like it very much and said it was too tough and chewy. The french fries were great though! I don’t even like french fries and I kept stealing some off his plate.

IMG_0918

I went with the half a chicken in a red wine sauce with potato puree. The chicken was very tender and the sauce was excellent. The potatoes were good too, although I’m not a big fan of mashed potatoes, but frank stole some off my plate (to be fair).

We decided to skip on dessert and just took a stroll around the park and sat in the grass for a while.

All in all, I think I would recommend to try it sometime, but make sure you ask to sit either next to the window or on the sidewalk because of the noise. It is a fun experience though, for the summer. I can’t see myself ever visiting when the windows aren’t open to enjoy the weather and the view of the city.

One Response to “Parc Restaurant”

  1. Chuck Says:

    Wow… Where do you find these cool paces to eat?


Leave a Reply

