MMM…Macaroonies

May 30, 2009

It always happens. I run from place to place all week and get myself all tired out until there’s only one thing I want to do…bake! yes, I’m a freak. It’s major therapy for me. It just so happened that France is on my brain a lot this week, for many different reasons, on of them being that I’ve been working a lot on my “wedding inspiration” design which as it turns out, is a vintage french theme. I’ve been racking my brain for three weeks trying to think of something really different I might be able to use as the “favors” until I cam across *drumroll please…* FRENCH MACAROONS.

they’re french. they’re fun. they’re perfect

It’s the colors that got me first. I’m a sucker for a food that you can make into fun bright colors, it makes me feel like I’m living in a fairy-tale or doctor suess book or something! So I set out to make them, using Martha’s French Almond Macaroon recipe. The only problem I encountered was that I had to make the almonds into powder form myself since I couldn’t find almond flour, and I had some chunks of powder that kind of stuck together, other than that they came out exactly how she said – Crispy on the outside and chewy in the middle (of course mine didn’t look nearly as perfect as hers!). I ended up being lazy and just using a basic buttercream for the filling. They proved to be not that challenging to make, and incredibly fun to photograph.

Yayyyy macaroons!

My “blue” macaroon came out a little more green looking than what I was going for…

…but I loved the pink! ( oh and also the rule of thirds, lol )

4 Responses to “MMM…Macaroonies”

  1. Chuck Says:

    Those look delicious… :-)


  2. I love the colors!! :D

  3. Pinky Says:

    It’s so hard to get them to be a light “cool” colour, such as blue or lavender. The yellow of the almond can really affect how they come out. If you can get a hold of really fine almond meal it will be lighter than what you make. But in general I just gave up on delicate cool colours. I guess go bright or go home is the key with macaroon colours ;)

    • lavienouveau Says:

      I know, I wish I could get a softer color, but they always seem to turn out neon. I also have had problems findin Almond meal. I always end up putting them through a processor, but the consistency is never as fine as I’d like. What a shame! I guess I’ll just have to buy them from now on!


Leave a Reply

